Detailed view:
International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR)
Title: International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR)
Creator: International Conference on the Great Lakes Region
Abstract: Following UN Security Council Resolutions that considered the conflicts in the region to be a threat to international peace and security the ICGLR was established in 2000. The ICGLR's objective is to bring all the countries of the region together, to agree on a strategy thats brings peace and prosperity to the Great Lakes region. The work concentrates on
- Peace and Security
- Democracy and Good Governance
- Economic Development and Regional Integration
- Humanitarian, Social and Environmental Issues.
The ICGLR comprises eleven core countries (Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo (Kinshasa), Congo (Brazzaville), Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia, co-opted countries (Botswana, Egypt, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe) and the "Group of Friends" (mainly Western countries). [according to site editor's information; editors ilissAfrica]
Keywords: International conflict settlement; Efforts to settle conflicts; East Africa; Regional international cooperation; Regional international conflicts; Reconstruction; East Africa; conflict resolution / conflict management; peace effort; peace mediation; reconstruction
Countries: Eastern Africa. General Resources
Subject areas: Politics ยป Conflict & Security
Location of the site's editor: Burundi
Resource type: Working Groups;
International and supranational Organisations
Language: English; French
© Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Afrika (ilissAfrica)
 Print window Close window